A week in the life of my Guardian blog

Last week I wrote a blog for the Guardian Teacher blog about the funding of RE. I had no idea what to expect. Naturally I was thrilled to have something I’d written on the Guardian website. I write two blogs of my own anyway, this one and my craft based one, A Crafty Chai, so am used to the process. When I get comments on my blog posts, they have always been positive.

I had no idea what to expect from the RE one on the Guardian. I tried to remember not to take any of the comments personally. People always have something to say and I guess the fact that 55 people commented on the blog post is better than no one saying anything. The interesting thing was the mixture of view points. There were some from people who were shocked by the lack of funding for RE and some from people who don’t think RE should be on the curriculum at all. It was interesting to see people responding to other people’s comments. I didn’t want to get involved, as I have a tendency to take things quite personally (& I have to admit I did have a bit of trouble sleeping after reading some of the comments!)

But discussion and debate about all subjects and the point of education is important, especially in the light of what the Government is currently doing. There has been a lot of discussion recently about the lack of jobs, unpaid work experience, drops in university places and whether education really does prepare todays young people for the working world. I feel that the current pressures on schools to perform is unrealistic and this is not best for the vast majority of our young people. Whether subjects like RE  are currently doing what the Government wants them to do is debatable.

I really enjoyed writing for the Guardian ( and I’ve enjoyed calling myself a ‘Guardian Professional’!) I hope that I can continue writing blog posts for them. But next time, I won’t read the comments before bed!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

